October 10, 2012 | Vol. 24 Edition 41

Schantz, Miner and Moulton win city council seats

Cobb re-elected mayor and Prop. 1 passes muster

Newcomers Donna Schantz, Jeremy Miner and Christopher Moulton were each elected to serve two-year terms on the Valdez City Council after absentee and questioned ballots were counted Wednesday morning from the Tues. Oct 2 municipal elections.

Valdez Star photo
Incumbent Kathy Todd (center) and Dolores Gard, (right) a former board member, were sworn into office on the board of education for Valdez City Schools by Jacob Jensen, superintendent, at Monday night’s regular meeting.

There were no incumbents on the ballot for city council, leaving a wide open field that attracted nine candidates. In the final count, Schantz netted 492 votes, Miner 330 votes and Moulton 323 votes.

Incumbent Dave Cobb was also re-elected, netting 503 votes versus 411 for challenger Rich Long.

Proposition 1 easily passed with 650 versus 296 votes against the measure. Proposition 1 authorizes the City of Valdez to issue $39 million in bonds to build a new middle school to replace the aging Gilson Jr. High.

Incumbent Dr. Kathy Todd and candidate Dolores Gard were elected to the board of education for three-year terms. Both candidates ran unopposed. The Valdez City Council certified the election in a special noon meeting on Wednesday, October 3.

Here are the total votes received by candidates that did not win council seats: Kris O’brien 102, Christian McGee 154, Nate Smith 293, Joshua Swierk 282, Wanda Clark 123 and Alan Crume 318.

The election results were not clear after regular votes were tallied Tuesday night, as a number of candidates were in a close heat and the number of outstanding questioned and absentee ballots were counted before the results could be certain.

Reader Comments