The Valdez Star - Serving Prince William Sound and Copper River Basin

By Tony Gorman
For the Star 

Girls sweep 35th Annual Elks Tournament

Boys team takes second place in basketball blowout


Tony Gorman Photo

The Lady Bucs faced tons of pressure from the visiting Hutchison Hawks during the Elks Tournament last week.

The 35th Annual Elks Basketball Tournament in Valdez brought glory to the Buccaneers and a huge number of teams to Valdez.

The Lady Buccaneers took first place in the tournament, beating out the visiting Hutchison Hawks 46-43. Earlier in the three-day tourney, the Lady Bucs beat out the visiting Lady Warriors from Bethel, 57-35 and the Kotzebue Huskies 41-35.

The Buccaneers Boys Basketball Team took second place after battling for the top spot in the final game against the Barrow Whalers. The Bucs would outscore Barrow 15-10 in the final frame but it wasn’t enough, as the Whalers claimed their fourth straight Elks title, 51-33.

The Bucs were on a winning streak in the lead-up to the championship game. The team beat out Kotzebue 58-34 in its first game of the tourney and 50-46 against Bethel.

Tony Gorman photo

Buccaneer Glacier Rohrer jumps for the bucket Friday in the team’s win against the visiting Bethel Warriors.

Awards for Girls Division: Elks Tournament MVP: Alex Derifield, Valdez. All Tournament Team: Barrow-Lynette Hepa and Hilary Lowery, Bethel-Kira Polk, Cordova-Misa Webber, Hutchison-Mimi Wood and Echo Winfrey, Kotzebue-Dessirea Kenworthy, Seward-Meg Berry and Chelsey Clark, and Valdez-Caitlin Auble. Three-Point Shooter Award: Coleen Snyder, Kotzebue

Sportsmanship Team Award: Seward. Truck Egan Award: Sara Goudreau.

Awards for Boys Division: Elks Tournament MVP: Colin Long, Barrow. All Tournament Team: Barrow-Eddie Benson, Bethel-Carlie Romer and Theodore Naneng, Cordova-Keith Nolan and William Roemhildt, Hutchison-Mark Rima, Nikiski-Colton Anderson, Seward-Jalen Terry, and Valdez-Max Duffy and Glacier Rohrer. Three-point Shooter Award: Mark Rima, Hutchison, and Colton Anderson, Nikiski.

Sportsmanship Award: Cordova.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019