The Valdez Star - Serving Prince William Sound and Copper River Basin

By Lee Revis
Editor, Valdez Star 

Feige reelected as House Rep for District 6

Bishop steps into Senate for new District C


Voters in Valdez and District 6 reelected Eric Feige to the Alaska House Tuesday night, giving the Chickaloon republican a second two-year term. Newcomer Jamey Duhamel (D-Sutton) received 1,376 votes to Feige’s 3,640 votes.

Valdez Star file photo

Incumbent Eric Feige (right) won his bid to remain in the Alaska House representing Valdez and District 6 Tuesday, beating out Democratic challenger Jamey Duhamel, left. The two are pictured during a Valdez forum held last August to introduce the candidates to voters.

Republican Click Bishop was elected to the Alaska Senate, representing District C, with 7,985 votes. Democratic challenger Anne Sudkamp received 3,146 votes.

Alaska voters overwhelmingly passed Bond measure A, 117,510 to 90,219 which contains $453,499,200 in grant funding for transportation infrastructure throughout the state,

Voters failed to pass Ballot Measure 1, which asked if a constitutional convention should be held. Sixty-eight percent of Alaskan voters said no.

Incumbent Republican Don Young was reelected to the US House of Representatives with 140,056 votes, 64.52 percent. He beat out Democratic challenger Sharon Cissna who received 61,458 votes.

In Alaska, Republican presidential candidate Mitt Romney received 120,329 votes, 54.51 percent over Incumbent President Barrack Obama, who received 90,743 votes, 41.11 percent.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019